Card 5: Heirophant

I sit looking
around expectantly,
though really I want

nothing but I’m
so accustomed
to waiting around

I’ll just take whatever
shows up. Or I look at
things I don’t understand

and want them
though what I want
is understanding.

I take them anyway,
turning them over
and over in my hands

in the dark
as if holding such
things can give me

back some sense
of what it was like
to really want something

regardless of what
I had already
or how long I’d waited.

The wheels on the bus
go round and round.
Round and round.

But I am going nowhere.
I’ve not been waiting
for no bus.

Brenda Shaughnessy

Leave a Reply

