LXXII

So dull he only makes a brief appearance
in his own life story,

resurfacing in a Florida legend, he kills himself
on a beautiful day.

In the avant-garde hospital (let me explain what I mean by that)

Where blue deer speak Fortran in the restroom,

I remember going to the post office and seeing my sasseur’s
face on the most wanted list,
remember leaving New York after a party
where a choreogrpher tried to convince me
that bluejeans were “pretentious
nineteenth-century gold rush period” outfits,

that the ancient world was a stage for the superstars of the Bible.

It was final then. The “wheel” would be his metaphor.

The Declaration of Independence blew me away when I first read it.

To the days beyond this one which are still perfect.

Come on.

David Berman

Leave a Reply

